Each type of cancer has its own ribbon color.

What do the colors of the cancer ribbons mean?


The most common ribbon color is pink, which is used for breast cancer awareness. But did you know that each type of cancer has its own color ribbon?


Before we tell you what they are, we’ll tell you how this tradition of wearing ribbons as a measure of support and international symbol originated.


It all started in 1917, in the United States, when the rights to a war march called Round her neck she wears a yellow ribbon were acquired. Later in 1940, there was the case of a woman who was waiting for her husband to return home safely from the war, as he had been taken hostage. The woman placed yellow ribbons on trees to express how much she wanted to see her husband return.


The pink ribbon was used until 1990. It was first used by the Susan Komen Breast Cancer Foundation in the United States. The movement began when the foundation gave pink caps (visors) to all the women who participated in a marathon to raise funds against this disease. Two months later, pink ribbons were sent to thank the women for their contribution to this noble cause.


Later, a 68-year-old American woman named Charlotte Hayley handed out melon-colored ribbons to raise awareness about the disease and how little the government was investing in the area.


Then Charlotte made the decision to change the color of the ribbon to pink and make it an international symbol of the fight against breast cancer.


Today, we have several colors of ribbons that are used to raise awareness about this condition. Find out what these colours are.

  • Dorado – childhood cancer
  • Pink – breast cancer
  • Yellow – sarcoma, bone cancer.
  • Blue-green – ovarian cancer
  • Blue strong – colon and thyroid cancer
  • Light blue – prostate cancer
  • Light green – lymphoma
  • White – lung cancer
  • Emerald green – liver cancer
  • Gray – brain cancer
  • Lavender – testicular cancer
  • Orange- leukemia
  • Black – melanoma


Such ribbon colors are not only used to distinguish types of cancer, but are also used to raise awareness of certain diseases, such as Parkinson’s or HIV. In addition, they have come to be used to warn about sensitive situations, such as domestic violence, racial tolerance, animal abuse, among others.